Scholarships & Bursaries

Education Opportunities for Indigenous Students

Key Questions

What is the difference between a scholarship and a bursary?

A scholarship is a grant or payment made to support a student’s education, awarded based on academic or other achievement. A bursary is a monetary award made by an educational institution or funding authority to individuals or groups. It is usually awarded to help a student have the financial means to attend school. 

What is the difference between Status and Non-status? 

A status indigenous person refers to any First Nations person who is registered with the federal government or to a band that signed a treaty with the Crown. A non-status indigenous person refers to any First Nations person who is not registered with the federal government and not registered to a band which signed a treaty with the Crown. In 2013, it was established that non-status “Indians” have the same rights as “Indians”.

The Taggart Award for Algonquin Students

This award was created to support outstanding students who have demonstrated leadership skills and have given back to their community or are involved in extracurricular activities. The award is to be distributed to eligible students of Algonquin heritage from one of the 10 Algonquin communities represented by AOO who are attending a college, university, technical college, or an apprenticeship program in Canada.

Awards Criteria

  • Awards Category: Post-Secondary Education
  • Program of Study: Any, with first preference given to students enrolled in Business programs
  • Level of Study: Any
  • Indigenous Affiliation: Algonquin students from one of the following communities: Antoine; Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation; Bonnechere; Greater Golden Lake; Kijicho Manito Madaouskarini (Bancroft); Mattawa/North Bay; Ottawa; Shabot Obaadjiwan (Sharbot Lake); Snimikobi (Ardoch); Whitney and Area Application Deadlines: August 1, November 1, February 1.

To Learn More:

Visit the bilingual Building Brighter Futures: Bursaries, Scholarships and Awards program guidelines on the Indspire website to learn about all the funding offered to support post-secondary education.

Please read the program guidelines before filling out the application form at

The Sylvia Bowerbank Memorial Bursary

The Sylvia Bowerbank Memorial Bursary recognizes Kijicho Manito Madaouskarini First Nation member Sylvia Bowerbank.

This bursary was established in 2005 by family and friends in memory of Dr. Sylvia Bowerbank who was a professor in the English department at McMaster University and was instrumental in setting up the Indigenous Studies program at McMaster.

This bursary is offered to female students enrolled in the Department of English and Cultural Studies at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario who demonstrate financial need. Preference is given to students who are part of an Indigenous community in Canada.

The bursary can be found on the McMaster University website under the in-course bursaries, Open to the Faculty of Humanities.

How does Financial Aid work? 

Resources to explain financial aid in different provinces are as follows: 

Helpful Sites for Indigenous Scholarships & Bursaries



University & College Resources by Province

Links for Indigenous Resources in Each Major University/College in Canada: 


Brock University (ALL awards)

Carleton University

Lakehead University

Laurentian University

McMaster University

Queen’s University

Ryerson University

Trent University

University of Guelph

University of Ottawa

University of Toronto (ALL awards)

University of Waterloo

University of Windsor

Western University

Wilfrid Laurier University

York University


Brandon University

Manitoba Institute of Trades and Technology

Red River College

The University of Winnipeg

University of Manitoba 


First Nations University of Canada (ALL)

University of Regina

University of Saskatchewan


University of Alberta

University nuhelot’įne thaiyots’į nistameyimâkanak Blue Quills University

MacEwan University

Concordia University of Edmonton

University of Calgary

Ambrose University

Mount Royal University

St. Mary’s University

University of Lethbridge

Athabasca University

British Columbia

University of the Fraser Valley

Simon Fraser University

Emily Carr University of Art and Design

Kwantien Polytechnic University

University of British Columbia

Vancouver Island University (ALL)

University of Victoria

University of Northern British Columbia


Concordia University

McGill University 
Bishop’s University

Université de Montréal

New Brunswick

University of New Brunswick (ALL)

St. Thomas University

Nova Scotia

Dalhousie University

Mount Saint Vincent University (ALL)

University of King’s College (ALL)

NSCAD University

Cape Breton University

Acadia University

Newfoundland and Labrador

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Prince Edward Island

University of Prince Edward Island (ALL)


Yukon University (ALL)