Algonquins of Ontario (AOO)

Kijicho Manito Madaouskarini Algonquin First Nation, as part of the Algonquins of Ontario (AOO) are on a journey of survival, reconciliation, self-sufficiency & self-governance. This journey began in 1772 with the first Algonquin Petition submitted to the Crown.

The AOO are comprised of ten Algonquin Communities in Ontario:

The ten communities of the AOO are represented by sixteen Algonquin Negotiation Representatives (ANRs) who are elected by Algonquin Voters for three-year terms. The ANRs include the Chief and Council of the Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation and one representative from each of the nine other Algonquin Communities.

Based on a Protocol signed in 2004, these communities are working together to create a modern-day treaty with the governments of Ontario and Canada.

Visit the Algonquins of Ontario website for more details.